Profile

Nature... She has exercised her power of seduction on us humans since the dawn of time. From the time of cave paintings until the present day, men have not ceased to portray her in many ways. So many beautiful things in front of our eyes that we can now bring back with us in a small box!

I began in 2009 with underwater photography with a -10m waterproof compact camera in apnea. Many moments of wonderment later, it passed away but left me with this consuming passion that never abandonnes me. This passion allows me to show you the world the way I see it. It drives me to keep going higher, deeper and further to discover our wonderful planet and makes my life exceptionnally diversifed.


DSC07406.jpg

 

Each picture corresponds to magic and irreplaceable moments where the photographer becomes an integreted part of this environement. Being there where the scenery becomes so intense to the point of even forgetting to trigger the shutter... and relish every passing second is to me the heart of the process. For these exceptional moments do pass and never come back except in our souvenirs supported by our photos. This uniqueness gives even more value to these experiences.
 

One of the necessary key points for tracking these exceptional moments is, unfortunatly, regular training. Indeed, to reach mountain peaks with a considerable weight of glass on the back or to freedive, a preparation in proportion to the goal fixed is required. Regular training in swimmingpools/gym enables to keep/improve the performances throughout the year in order to thrive entirely on these unique moments in seas, rivers or on mountains.

The age that we're living in is really unique. Unique in the sense that it is possible to move about. No need to go back very far in time to realize that a journey was already an adventure in itself. This is an priceless priviledge to be able to discover other cultures, travel great distances in a matter of hours, to explore our world and its remote areas.

DSCN0564.jpg


Dear visitor, I hope to give you through this website, the desire to seek in our beautiful nature moments of freedom and enjoyment which enable us to let go of our lives where everthing goes too fast and to be able to resource ourselves.

I wish you many fulfilling moments!

 

Photography Ethics

In my opinion, photography is a means of expression that has its only limite where this act becomes destructive. In nature, the passage of the photographer, should ideally be unnoticed and cause the least possible strain on the environment. That is why I impose on myself the rules of never feeding wildlife or endangering the species just for a few shots.

The same rules apply in macro photography where I guarantee that all subjects are alive and healthy when I leave.

As for the post-processing of images, I do my utmost to reproduce the scene I have witnessed and do not add any items that where nonexistent when the photograph was taken. I use techniques to capture scenes with high dynamic range (HDR) when it is needed, and stitching to reach a high resolution. The focus stacking is also used when the foreground is too close to the front lens or for macro photography.

On the other hand, I never compose a picture from other photographs corresponding to different locations. All elements of my images were present during the shooting and special care has been taken to be as unobtrusive and respectful as possible.



Acknowledgment


I am happy to thank every person who has helped to bring about this site.

First of all, I'll never thank my tender Silvia enough for having pushed me forward and allowed me considerable time to be able to put this goal into concret form, and knew how to manage my multiple passions. Then, I infinitely thank my mother, Madeleine, for her talents of seamstress and the innumerable alterations of my camouflages, and for her translations.

There are also sincere thanks that go to my friends Eric and Ludo for the delirious moments we shared and also for their photos. Not to mention Bob and Shaun for their help with translations into the language of Shakespeare, and super Boris for his spare parts to the 3D printer.

There is also a thanks to people who have crossed my path and exchanged passions and information without my even sometimes knowing their names. A big thank you to you all!

Profil

La nature... Elle a exercé son pouvoir de séduction depuis la nuit des temps sur nous les humains. Depuis les dessins dans les cavernes, les hommes n'ont cessés de la représenter jusqu'à nos jours par de multiples façons. Tant de belles choses devant nos yeux que l'on peut maintenant ramener avec soi dans une petite boîte!

J'ai commencé par la photo sub-aquatique en apnée en 2009 avec un compact étanche à -10m. Bien des moments d'émerveillement plus tard, il a rendu l'âme mais m'a laissé cette passion dévorante qui désormais ne me quitte plus. Cette passion me permet de vous montrer le monde tel que je le vois. Elle me pousse à aller toujours plus haut, plus profond et plus loin pour découvrir cette planète et rend ma vie exceptionnellement diversifiée.

DSC07406.jpg


A chaque image correspond des instants magiques et irremplaçables où le photographe fait partie intégrante de cet environnement. Être là où le spectacle devient tellement intense à en oublier d'appuyer sur le déclencheur... et savourer chaque seconde qui défile est pour moi le cœur du processus. Car ces moments exceptionnels passent et ne reviennent jamais si ce n'est dans notre mémoire aidée de nos clichés. Ce caractère unique donne encore plus de valeur à ces expériences.

Un des points nécessaires à cette quête de moments exceptionnels est hélas l'entraînement. En effet, pour atteindre des sommets montagneux avec un poids de verre considérable sur le dos ou plonger en apnée, une préparation proportionnelle aux buts fixés est requise. L'entraînement régulier en piscine/salle permet de garder/améliorer le niveau tout au fil de l'année afin de pouvoir pleinement profiter de ces moments uniques en mers, rivières ou montagnes.

L'époque que l'on vit est vraiment unique. Unique dans le sens qu'il est possible de se déplacer à volonté. Nul besoin de remonter très loin dans le passé pour se rendre compte qu'un voyage dans une contrée lointaine était déjà une aventure en soit. C'est une richesse inestimable de pouvoir aller à la rencontre d'autres cultures, parcourir des grandes distances en une poignée d'heures pour découvrir notre monde et ses contrées reculées.

DSCN0564.jpg

 
Cher visiteur, j'espère à travers ce site, vous donner l'envie de rechercher des moments de bonheur et de liberté dans notre si belle nature qui permettent de décrocher de nos vies où tout va trop vite pour pouvoir se ressourcer et s'épanouir.

Je vous souhaite bien des moments de plaisir!

 



Ethique photographique

A mes yeux, la photographie est un moyen d'expression et n'a de limite que le moment où cet acte devient destructeur. En nature, le passage du photographe devrait, dans l'idéal, être inaperçu et apporter le moins possible de contrainte à l'environnement. C'est pourquoi, je m'impose comme règles de ne jamais nourrir la vie sauvage ou mettre en péril les espèces juste pour quelques clichés.

Les mêmes règles s'imposent en macro photographie et je garantis que tous les sujets sont vivant et bien portant à mon départ.

Quant au post-traitement des images, je m'évertue à reproduire la scène dont j'ai été le témoin et je n'ajoute aucun éléments inexistant à la prise de vue. J'utilise les techniques qui permettent de capturer les scènes à forte échelle dynamique (HDR) lorsque celle-ci sont nécessaires et le stitching (assemblage d'images) afin d'accéder à de fortes résolutions. Le focus stacking (empilement de mises au point) est également utilisé lorsque l'avant plan est trop proche de la lentille frontale.

Par contre, je ne compose jamais une image à partir d'autres photos correspondant à des endroits différents. Tous les éléments de mes images ont été présents lors de la prise de vue et un soin particulier a été apporté afin d'être le plus discret et respectueux possible.

 

Remerciements

Je suis heureux de pouvoir remercier toutes les personnes qui ont permit que ce site voie le jour.

Tout d'abord, je ne remercierai jamais assez ma tendre Silvià qui m'a poussé en avant et m'a laissé un temps considérable afin de concrétiser ce but et a su gérer mes multiples passions. Puis, je remercie infiniment ma mère Madeleine et ses talents de couturière pour les innombrables retouches des camouflages et ses traductions.

Il y a également des sincères remerciements qui vont à mes amis Eric et Ludo pour les moments délires qu'on a partagés et aussi leurs photos. Sans oublier Bob et Shaun pour leur aide avec les traductions vers la langue de Shakespeare et super Boris pour ses pièces à l'imprimante 3D.

Il y a également un remerciement aux personnes qui ont croisés ma route et échangés passions et informations sans même parfois savoir leur nom. Un grand merci à vous tous!