Nikkor AF-S 14-24mm f/2.8G IF ED

 14-24_sunset.jpg


The lens at a glance

Specifications:

 

Focal length range: 14-24mm
Construction: 14 elemts in 11 groups (with 2 elements in ED glass)
View angle: 114° - 84° (90° - 61° for DX format)
Maximum aperture: f/2.8
Minimum aperture: f/22
Minimum focus distance: 0.28m (for f = 18-24mm)
Number of diaphragm blades: 9 (rounded)
Filters: Multiple solutions on the market, not provided by Nikon
Dimensions: Ø 98mm x 131.5mm
Weight: 1000gr

 

schema_lentille_14-24_f5f5f5_EN.jpg 

This zoom lens is just perfect! This zoom is extra-ordinary! It's a concentrate of advanced technologies and reveals the high master of Nikon in the manufacture of these complex objectives.
It was the first ultra-wide angle lens with a f/2.8 constant aperture produced in 2007 and currently remains the reference in terms of sharpness at any aperture and focal length. If you have the opportunity to try it, it will haunt you years:-)

Upon its release, Nikon was proud to announce that this lens rivals fixed focal lengths lenses in terms of performance and optical design. Indeed, as you can see from the test-pictures below, Nikon has kept his word!

 14-24_basse_lum_3.jpg



Summary of advantages:

  • Ultra-wide angle developped for FX full frame format (24x36mm) and compatible with small DX sensors (24x16mm).
  • Bright lens with a f/2.8 constant apperture through the focal range.
  • The sharpness and contrast are absolutely remarquable until the corner of the photo. Ideal in low light conditions.
  • Excellent colour saturation and very low vignetting.
  • Limited chromatic aberrations thanks to its partial ED glass construction. (Extra-low Dispersion glass)
  • Reduced ghosts and sens flare due to its new generation of antireflective coating (nano crystal coating technology).
  • Fast and slient autofocus (silent wave motor).
  • M/A function, allows to switch between manual or autofocus mode for fast control.
  • Internal focus (IF). The lens keeps the same dimensions when the focus changes or the focal length.
  • It's a zoom lens, thus very versatile in the field unlike a fixed focale length because it is sometimes not possible to move arround the subject. Having a zoom lens is an real asset.
  • Excellent rudgged construction in magnesium with a good weather sealing against dust and moisture.

Summary of weaknesses:

  • Relatively heavy and cumbersome.
  • Filter-holders available on the market are expensive.

 

Let's begin with the weaknesses:

 


So, of course, it takes up space in the bag, because the front lens is giant. But this geometry makes possible to collect a lot of light, which is ideal for night photogrpahy or in low light condition. Its hallucinating performance, made me forget quickly these few inconveniences.

On the other hand, for the filter holder, Nikon did not look for a solution. Some time after the release of this lens, filter holders apppear on the market and currently there are several manufacturers. 

  • Lee Filters SW150 MarkII
  • Haida 150 serie Filter Holder

 
Now the advantages in detail

Ultra-wide angle with full frame format (FX)

14-24_sunrise.jpg 

This zoom has been specially designed for full-frame sensors (24x36mm) but it is also compatible with DX sensors.
It covers an angle of 114 ° - 84 ° with an FX sensor. At ultra-wide angle, means at f = 14mm, the lines remain straight and distortion is not a problem. It becomes ideal also for architectural photography because the perspectives are conserved unlike a fisheye. On my point of view, I find this lens exceptional for low light photography. It becomes the essential companion for photos at the blue hours, when the stars begin to disappear.

 
14-24_basse_lum_1.jpg

Where to buy to support the site:

Missnumerique: AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED IF

 

Fast lens and sharpness of the diagonal

Its construction is such that it can photograph at full aperture (f/2.8) regardless of the focal length which makes it a fast lens. I love hunting northern lights with this lens because its ultra wide angle allows to frame this grandiose phenomenon, and its large aperture captures these beautiful lights without exploding the ISO.


14-24_NL.jpg

 

14-24_mtf_24mm_f5f5f5_EN.jpg

Which seem to me the most important, is its ability to produce razor sharp image all across the diagonal at full aperture (f/2.8) and wide angle (f = 14mm). The MTF graphs below show the values calculated at the two ends of the zoom.

The contrast is maintained at very high values, whatever the focal length. On the other hand, there is a slight loss of sharpness in the corners but quite acceptable (see below test images). Furthermore this lens does not suffer from a field curvature. There are other lenses on the market that are brighter but none of them produce an image of such sharpness to the corners of the photo. Of course, it is important to manage correctly the distance of objects in the foreground because at full aperture, the depth of field is very low especially with a full frame sensor.

The image below was not modified. The sharpness and noise are raw as well as the 100% crop. One can enjoy the sharpness delivered by this lens despite the digital noise caused by the high sensitivity used.
 

NL_NO_brute.jpg 

The 100% crop below correspond respectively to the extremity of the upper left corner, to the center and to the lower left corner. These parts of the original photo were not processed, they are raw from the sensor.

 agrandissements_14-24.jpg

These  100% crops (Nikon D4 - 16Mpx) show how it is possible to have a sharp background at infinity, up to the corner of the image (1st crop) while having a foreground also sharp (3rd crop). The 2nd crop is necessarily perfect because it is in the center of the frame.

 

NL_NO_Lr.jpg 

The image above is the result of the post processing using Lightroom 5. The white balance has been adjusted to reduce the green cast on the snow and brighten the dark areas. The noise has been removed by Define 2.0 (Nik software, plugin now owned by Google). In this case, these software tools are essential for a balanced image.

 

Color saturation, vignetting and distortion

_DSC2263.jpg 

The raw image is incredibly natural. The colors come out saturated and the contrast is balanced. The optical design of this lens faithfully reproduce the photographed scene without systematically the need to boost saturation and contrast in post-production.



Limitation of chromatic aberration


The use of two ED glass elements (Extra-low Dispersion) enables to significantly limit the chromatic aberrations. One can clearly see this effect on images which results in a halo of colors around the edges when the contrast varies substantially. This phenomenon is accentuated away from the center of the image until the corners of the photo. The use of these two special ED glass components can limit these halos. Their complete elimination is done in post-processing very easly.

 

Anti-reflective coating (nano crystal coating technology)


 
This is an anit-reflective coating (Nano Crystal Coating technology) of new generation using nano-particle layers that significantly reduce parasitic reflections unlike conventional anti-reflective coatings.
 

lensFlare_14-24.jpg

These colorful spots are not a problem in itself. When shooting, it is wise to take a photo with the sun in the frame, then without moving the camera, another photo by masking the sun with the hand to eliminate these colored halos in post-processing. The advantage with this lens is that these unwanted spots are very small, so very easily eliminable.

Fast and silent autofocus

The autofocus is effectively fast and quiet but I never use it with this lens. To get the sharpest image possible, it is best go through the live view mode. This mode provides crisp detail even in the worst shooting conditions. Live view mode is particularly effective for night photography when a star is enlarged on the LCD screen and the sharpness is adjusted manually by the focus ring. Indeed, the autofocus does not detect the stars but works perfectly in low light.
 

 

14-24_nuit.jpg
Autofocus/Manual function

The side of the barrel is equipped with a switch that allows to choose between autofocus mode or manual focus. This switch is useful when we want to quickly switch from one mode to the other.
 

Internal focus

Certain lenses have their physical length that varies when changing the focus or focal length. To me, I like to have a lens that the distance to the subject does not change and I prefer a fixed system for reasons of storage, transportation and handling. This lens is constructed of a sturdy block.
 

Variable focal length

In the field, we are dependent on the topography. Sometimes it is not possible to move where it's needed, and therefore to have a zoom lens is an asset. Of course, always "working the scene" and do not systematically go through the zoom ring. The other advantage of having a zoom is that we have at hand the choice of the size of the background elements. Indeed, at f = 24mm, the background elements will be more imposing than the bachground element with ultra-wide angle f = 14mm. One can then choose their size which is a function of the focal length to obtain the best visual balance, all with a single lens!
 

Sturdy construction and sealing

This lens is massive, built like a tank. The structure is composed of magnesium alloy and the petal-shaped lens hood limit parasitic light. Its design is solid and built to last. Dust and moisture proctection is guaranteed by seals that have been proven. Indeed, I made it suffer very high humidity ratio in the jungle in Asia and temperatures of -20°C in the northern hemisphere without detecting any weakness. The focus ring turns with a remarkable fluidity and the zoom ring has a more pronounced friction due to the weight of the optical group.

This is the heavyweight of the ultra-wide angle lenses in terms of optical performance, solid construction and its weight...
 

Where to buy to support the site:

Missnumerique: AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED IF

Back to index

No comments yet.

Leave a comment!

Have an account? Log in

Your Email address will not be published.

Nikkor AF-S 14-24mm f/2.8G IF ED

 14-24_sunset.jpg


L'objectif en un clin d'oeil

Spécifications techniques:

 

Plage focale: 14-24mm
Construction: 14 éléments en 11 groupes (avec 2 éléments en verre ED)
Angle de vision: 114° - 84° (90° - 61° pour format DX)
Ouverture maximale: f/2.8
Ouverture minimale: f/22
Distance de mise au point minimale: 0.28m (pour f=18-24mm)
Nombre de lamelles du diaphragme: 9 (arrondies)
Fixation des filtres: Solution non fournie par Nikon
Dimensions: Ø 98mm x 131.5mm
Poids: 1000gr

schema_lentille_14-24_f5f5f5_FR.jpg 
Ce zoom est extra-ordinaire! Une des meilleures optiques que j'aie eu entre mes mains. C'est un concentré de technologies de pointes qui dévoile la haute maîtrise de Nikon dans la fabrication de ses objectifs complexes.

Il fût le premier objectif ultra-grand angle avec une ouverture constante à f/2.8 produit en 2007 et reste actuellement la référence en terme de netteté à n'importe quelle ouverture et focale. Si vous avez la possibilité de l'essayer, il vous hantera de nombreuses années! Lors de sa sortie, Nikon était fier d'annoncer que ce zoom rivalise avec certaines focales fixes en terme de performance et de design optique. Effectivement, comme vous pourrez le constater, Nikon a tenu parole!

 14-24_basse_lum_3.jpg


Sommaire des points forts:

  • Ultra grand angle conçu pour les capteurs plein format FX (24x36mm) et également compatible avec les plus petits capteurs DX (24x16mm).
  • Très lumineux avec son ouverture constante à f/2.8 sur toute sa plage focale.
  • La netteté et le contraste sont absolument remarquables jusqu'aux coins de l'image. Idéal pour la photo en basse lumière.
  • Excellente saturation des couleurs et très peu d'obscurcissement dans les coins de l'image (vignettage).
  • Aberrations chromatiques limitées grâce à sa construction partielle en verre ED (extra-low dispersion)
  • Réduction significative des réflexions parasites grâce aux traitements antireflets (nano crystal coating technology)
  • Auto-focus (AF-S) très rapide et silencieux (moteur silencieux à ondulation)
  • Fonction M/A, permet de choisir le mode manuel ou auto-focus pour un contrôle rapide.
  • Mise au point interne IF (internal focus). L'objectif reste en un bloque lorsqu'on fait varier la mise au point ou la focale.
  • C'est un zoom, donc très pratique sur le terrain contrairement à une lentille fixe car l'on ne peut parfois pas s'approcher ou s'éloigner du sujet. Posséder un zoom est un avantage de taille.
  • Excellente construction robuste en magnésium avec une étanchéité efficace face aux poussières et à l'humidité.

 Sommaire des points faibles:

  • Relativement lourd et encombrant.
  • Les porte-filtres disponibles sur le marché sont chers.

 

Commençons par les points faibles:

Alors certes, il prend de la place dans le sac, car la lentille frontale est immense. Mais cette géométrie permet de collecter énormément de lumière, ce qui est idéal pour les photos de nuit ou en basse lumière. Ses performances tout à fait hallucinantes, m'ont fait oublier bien vite ces quelques désagréments.

Par contre, pour le porte-filtre, Nikon n'a pas cherché une solution. Quelque temps après la sortie de cet objectif, des porte-filtres ont vu le jour sur le marché et actuellement, il existe plusieurs fabricants.

  • Lee Filters SW150 MarkII
  • Haida 150 serie Filter Holder

 

Maintenant les points forts en détail:

Ultra-grand angle avec un capteur plein format (FX)

 

14-24_sunrise.jpg 

 

Ce zoom a été spécialement étudié pour les capteurs plein format (24x36mm) mais il est aussi compatible avec les capteurs DX.
Il couvre un angle de 114° - 84° avec un capteur FX. A l'ultra-grand angle, c'est-à-dire à f=14mm, les lignes restent encore droites et la distorsion n'est pas un problème. Il devient idéal également pour la photographie d'architecture car les perspectives sont conservées contrairement à un fisheye. Pour ma part, je trouve ce caillou exceptionnel pour la photographie en faible lumière. Il devient le compagnon incontournable pour les photos aux heures blues, lorsque les étoiles commencent à disparaître.

 14-24_basse_lum_1.jpg

 

Où acheter pour supporter le site:

Missnumerique: AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED IF

 

Objectif lumineux et netteté de la diagonale


Sa construction est telle que l'on peut photographier à pleine ouverture (f/2.8) quelque soit la focale, ce qui fait de lui un objectif lumineux. J'aime énormément chasser les aurores boréales avec ce caillou car son ultra-grand angle permet de cadrer ce phénomène grandiose, et sa grande ouverture capte ces belles lumières sans faire exploser les ISO.

 14-24_NL.jpg

14-24_mtf_24mm_f5f5f5_FR.jpg
Ce qui me paraît le plus important, c'est la netteté remarquable sur toute la diagonale de l'image à pleine ouverture (f/2.8) et au grand angle (f = 14mm). Les graphes MTF ci-dessous montrent les valeurs calculées aux deux extrémités de ce zoom. Le contraste est maintenu à de très hautes valeurs quelque soit la focale. Par contre , il y a une légère perte de netteté dans les coins mais tout à fait acceptable (voir images tests plus bas). De plus ce zoom ne souffre pas d'une courbure de champ.

Il y a d'autres objectifs sur le marché qui sont plus lumineux mais aucun ne rend une image d'un pareil piqué jusqu'aux coins de la photo. Par exemple, il est possible d'avoir les étoiles nettes mais également l'avant plan. Bien évidemment, il faut gérer la distance des objets de l'avant plan car à pleine ouverture la profondeur de champ est très faible surtout avec un capteur plein format.

L'image ci-dessous n'a pas été traitée. La netteté et le bruit sont brutes de capteur ainsi que les 100% plus bas. On peut apprécier le piqué obtenu par cet objectif malgré le bruit numérique.

NL_NO_brute.jpg 

Les agrandissements à 100% ci-dessous correspondent respectivement à l'extrémité du coin supérieur gauche, au centre et au coin inférieur gauche. Le bruit numérique n'a pas été supprimé et la netteté est brute de capteur.

 agrandissements_14-24.jpg

Ces agrandissements à 100% (Nikon D4 - 16Mpx) montrent à quel point il est possible d'avoir un arrière plan net à l'infini, jusqu'au coin de l'image (1er agrandissement) tout en ayant un avant-plan également net (3ème agrandissement). Le 2ème agrandissement est forcément parfait car il se trouve au centre du cadrage.

 

NL_NO_Lr.jpg 

L'image ci-dessus est le résultat des retouches faites à l'aide de Lightroom 5. La balance des blancs a été ajustée pour diminuer la composante verte sur la neige et éclaircir les zones foncées. Le bruit a été supprimé par Define 2.0 (plugin de Nik software, maintenant propriété de Google). Dans ce cas précis, ces outils logiciels sont indispensables pour obtenir une image équilibrée.

 

Saturation des couleurs, vignettage et distorsion

 

_DSC2263.jpg 

L'image brute de capteur est incroyablement naturelle. Les couleurs sortent saturées et le contraste est équilibré. Le design optique de cet objectif permet de restituer fidèlement la scène photographiée sans avoir à systématiquement booster la saturation et le contraste en post-production.


Limitation de l'aberration chromatique  


L'utilisation de deux composants en verre ED (Extra-low dispersion) permet de lutter efficacement contre l'aberration chromatique. On peut clairement voir cet effet sur les images qui se traduit par un halo coloré sur les contours où le contraste varie de manière conséquente. Ce phénomène s'accentue en s'éloignant du centre de l'image. L'utilisation de ces deux composants spéciaux en verre ED permet de limiter ces halos. Leur élimination complète se fait très facilement en post-production.

 

Traitements anti-reflets (nano crystal coating technology)


 Il s'agit d'un traitement antireflets de nouvelle génération utilisant des couches de nano-particules permettant de réduire les réflexions parasites et le scintillement de manière significative contrairement aux traitements anti-reflets conventionnels.
 

lensFlare_14-24.jpg

Ces taches colorées ne sont pas un problème en soit. A la prise de vue, il est judicieux de prendre une photo avec le soleil dans le cadrage, puis sans déplacer l'appareil photo, une autre photo en masquant le soleil avec la main pour éliminer ces halos colorés en post-traitement. L'avantage avec cet objectif est que ces taches indésirables sont de petites tailles, donc très facilement éliminables.

Auto-focus rapide et silencieux

L'auto-focus et effectivement rapide et silencieux mais je ne l'utilise jamais avec cette lentille. Pour avoir l'image la plus nette possible, je passe par le mode live view. Ce mode permet d'obtenir une netteté irréprochable même dans les pires conditions de prise de vue.

Le mode live view est aussi particulièrement  efficace pour la photo de nuit lorsque l'on agrandi une étoile sur l'écran LCD et que l'on règle la netteté manuellement par la bague de mise au point. En effet, l'auto-focus ne parvient pas à détecter les étoiles mais fonctionne tout de même parfaitement en basse lumière.
 

 

14-24_nuit.jpg
Fonction Auto-focus/Manuel

La partie latérale du zoom est équipée d'un commutateur qui permet de choisir entre le mode auto-focus ou la mise au point manuelle. Ce commutateur est particulièrement utile lorsque l'on veut basculer rapidement d'un mode à l'autre.
 

Mise au point interne IF (internal focus) 

Certain objectif ont leur longueur physique qui varie lorsque l'on change la mise au point ou la focale. J'aime pour ma part avoir une lentille où la distance au sujet ne varie pas et je préfère un système fixe pour des raisons de stockage, transport et manipulations. Cet objectif est construit en un bloc robuste.
 

Focale variable 

Sur le terrain, nous sommes dépendants de la topographie des lieux. Parfois il n'est pas possible de se déplacer où l'on voudrait et donc, posséder un zoom est un atout. Bien évidemment, il faut toujours "travailler la scène" et ne pas systématiquement passer par la bague de zoom. L'autre avantage d'avoir un zoom est qu'on a sous la main le choix de la taille des éléments d'arrière plan. En effet, à f=24mm, les éléments d'arrière plan seront plus imposant qu'à l'ultra-grand angle f=14mm. On peut alors choisir leur taille qui est fonction de la focale pour obtenir le meilleur équilibre visuel, le tout avec un seul objectif!
 

Construction robuste et étanchéité 

Cet objectif est massif, construit comme un tank. La structure est composé d'alliage de magnésium et un pare soleil en forme de pétale limite la lumière parasite. Sa conception est solide et faite pour durer. L'étanchéité à la poussière et à l'humidité est garantie par des joints qui ont fait leurs preuves. En effet, je lui ai fait subir de très haut taux d'humidité dans la jungle en Asie et des températures de -20°C dans l’hémisphère Nord sans détecter la moindre faiblesse. La bague de mise au point tourne d'une fluidité remarquable et la bague de zoom a, quant à elle, une friction plus prononcée dû au poids conséquent du groupe optique.

C'est le poids lourd des ultra-grands angles tant au niveau de ses performances optiques, sa construction massive et... son poids...

 

Où acheter pour supporter le site:

Missnumerique: AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED IF

Retour à l'indexe

Aucun commentaires pour l'instant.

Laissez un commentaire !

Déjà inscrit ? Se connecter

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.