The Plamp holder

There are no limits of the use of this tool except the limits of our inventiveness. Indeed, who has never dreamed of having more than two hands when the manipulations multiply... As or me, this tool is so useful that it is an integral part of my camera bag. Whether for macro or landscape, its feather weight and small size when folded allows easy transport.

A powerful and robust clamp constitutes the part that keeps the articulated arm in position. At the end of the arm, a more delicate clamp allows smooth control of the subject. The last update of this tool include a screw to adjust the force on the subject. plamp.jpg

Few possible use:

 

Ensure the steadiness of a subject

In the field, ideal conditions would be to have no air movement, no obstructions around the subject, diffused and abundant light etc. These conditions are just impossibile to bring together. The static holding of the subject by this clamp can eliminate at least one source of the galleys.

 

Orientation of misplaced subject

As it is extremely rare to find a subject that has the right inclination or orientation, this grip can both keep the subject static and also impose an orientation.

 

Hold a diffuser or reflector

To fill in a background, that is to say, providing it with enough light to ensure that the background is not black, a reflector is a good solution.

Again, this clamp can carry a good sized reflector. A white reflector will reproduce the light it receives without changing its temperature and a gold reflector will bring a warmer component. A diffuser can also be maintained between the subject and direct sunlight to filter the rays and subdue the dynamic range.

 

Clear the field of view from annoying elements

As we are always dependent on the environment, it is good to have several options to get the desired scene. This clamp can be used to exclude elements that are in the way, like a piece of wood or other.

 

Hold a sun shield

During panorama shooting in direct sunlight, it's very important to protect the front lens of the ultra-wide angle lens Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G IF ED to avoid ghosts on the images. These parasitic reflexions can come from the filter holder even if it's impervious to light.

 

panoTorneresse.jpg

 

In fact, in these wide dynamic range shootings, reflections may occur after the polarizing filter and ruin the images. This clip becomes the icing on the cake because it can be fixed on the tripod or RealRightStuff Arca Swiss rails and protects the front lens from direct sunlight while remaining static relative to the lens. Once it is set, it is possible to take successive images on 180° without worrying about these parasitic reflections. Without this tool, it's essentiel to use our hand with each image to protect the filter holder and follow the rotation of the device 180 degrees until the last frame, which is sometimes not possible, depending on the topography of the ground, and is very laborious.

Back to index

Pince The Plamp

Retour à l'indexe

 

Les utilisations de cet outil n'ont de limites que notre inventivité. En effet, qui n'a jamais rêvé d'avoir plus de deux mains lorsque les manipulations se multiplies... Pour ma part, cette pince fait partie intégrante de mon sac de photo tant elle est utile. Que se soit en macro ou en paysage, sont poids dérisoire et son faible volume une fois pliée permet un transport facile.

Une pince puissante et robuste constitue la partie qui assure le maintien du bras articulé. A l'extrémité du bras, une pince plus délicate permet le contrôle tout en douceur du sujet. La dernière version de cet outil inclut une vis permettant d'ajuster la pression sur le sujet. plamp.jpg

Quelques utilisations possible:

 

Maintien statique d'un sujet

Sur le terrain, les conditions idéales de prise de vue serait de n'avoir aucun mouvement d'air, aucun éléments gênant le sujet, une lumière diffuse et abondante etc. Ces conditions sont juste impossible à réunir. Le maintien statique du sujet par cette pince permet d'éliminer au moins une source de galères.

 

Orientation d'un sujet mal placé

Comme il est extrêmement rare de trouver un sujet qui a la bonne inclinaison ou orientation, cette pince peut à la fois maintenir statique le sujet mais également lui imposer une orientation.

 

Fixation d'un diffuseur ou d'un réflecteur

Pour remplir un arrière plan, c'est-à-dire lui fournir suffisamment de lumière pour qu'il ne soit pas noir, un réflecteur est une bonne solution.

A nouveau, cette pince peut supporter un réflecteur de bonne taille. Un réflecteur blanc restituera la lumière qu'il reçoit sans modifier sa température et un réflecteur doré apportera une composante plus chaude. Un diffuseur peut également être maintenu entre le sujet et le soleil direct pour filtrer les rayons et atténuer l'échelle dynamique.

 

Écarter du champ de vision des éléments gênant

Comme nous sommes toujours dépendant de l'environnement, il est bon d'avoir plusieurs solutions pour obtenir la scène voulue. Cette pince peut permettre d'écarter des éléments gênant, tout comme un bout de bois ou autre.

 

Tenir un pare-soleil

Lors des prises de vues destinées à finir en panorama et sous un soleil direct, il est primordial de protéger la lentille frontale de l'ultra-grand angle Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G IF ED pour éviter toutes réflexions parasites sur les images. Ces réflexions parasites peuvent provenir du porte-filtre même lorsqu'il est étanche face aux fuites lumineuses.

 panoTorneresse.jpg

En effet, lors de ces prises de vues à large échelle dynamique, les réflexions peuvent survenir après le filtre polarisant et ruiner les images. Cette pince devient la cerise sur le gâteau car elle se fixe sur le trépied ou les rails RealRightStuff Arca Swiss et vient protéger la lentille frontale en restant statique par rapport à la lentille. Une fois mise en place, il est donc possible de prendre des images successives sur 180° sans se soucier de ces réflexions parasites. Sans cet outil, il est obligatoire d'utiliser notre main à chaque image pour protéger le porte-filtre et de suivre la rotation de l'appareil sur 180° jusqu'à la dernière image, ce qui n'est parfois pas possible suivant la topographie du terrain et surtout très pénible.

Retour à l'indexe