Promote Control

PromoteAction.jpg

 

This little pocket-size computer provides valuable services. In practice, in the field, weather conditions can vary greatly. I think especially in the mountains or a country in changeable weather such as Iceland. Therefore, having a tool that is reliable and can stand snow or rain is a major asset.

Moreover, its discreet size allows one to incorporate it to any equipment. The steering of the basic parameters of the camera can also be done by a tablet or a PC, but these have a keyboard/touch screen which are the major weaknesses in difficult weather conditions, without mentioning the transport inconvinience related to the size of these devices.

The Promote Control has all the features required for shooting in remote sites where weather conditions can be harsh, while keeping a pocket size!

 

One shot mode:

When a single image is required, this mode allows one to either keep the camera settings or to choose the exposure time, aperture and sensitivity by the Promote Control for a complete control of the camera. Using the shutter cable, it's possible to select the exposure time in HH:MM:SS which is indispensable for long exposures.

 

PromoteIceberg.jpg

 

Indeed, the camera bulb mode doesn't give an indication of elapsed time, therefore, the use of the Promote Control allows precise and reproductive exposures without an additional timer. Moreover, its small size allows one to substitute it for traditional wired control while still benefiting from its many functions.

 

HDR mode:

In high-contrast scenes where it is not possible to use a graduated ND filter, the Promote Control allows braketting up to 45 images, a much higher number that in normal use.

The advantage with this system is that it is not necessary to touch the camera to change the shutter speed nor to count in one's head the number of bracketted images when shooting HDR panoramas. In each view, simply operate the device to automatically take parameterized pictures. Very handy in the field.

 

PromotePano.jpg

 

The 80Mpx image above is the result of 16 sets of 15 exposures in 1/3EV increments. The Promote Control, greatly facilitated this shooting session and its small size allows one to operate it in difficult areas like in this river where I wouldn't go with a laptop!

 

Bulb HDR mode:

This mode is a backup of the HDR presented above. It's useful for the cameras without a USB connection. The steering sequences passes through the bulb mode, but these abilities are limited compared to the HDR mode via USB.

 

Timelapse mode, regular and HDR:

Shooting to compose a timelapse is greatly simplified because the options available with the Promote Control go well beyond the parameters of the camera whatever they are. It is possible to choose the interval, the number of frames and to delay the shooting by setting the delay time in HH:MM:SS. It's also possible to take photos during the intervals, if an unexpected action occured, without stopping the sequence. Furthermore, in case of bad preliminary settings of lighting conditions, exposure is adjustable during the sequence.

But in addition, the function that I particularly like, the HDR timelapse which allows one to succeed in taking difficult shots in high-contrast scenes. Function that is usually not included with the classic intervallometers.

 

Bulb Ramping mode, regular and advanced:

Regular mode is very useful for timelapse of a sunrise or sunset. For larger dynamic range, the advanced mode becomes unavoidable. It is used for the transition from night to day and vice versa.

The bulb ramping mode works by varying the exposure by small increments. The assembled images will produce a video without flickering (rapid changes in exposure). This mode provides a gradual transition from night to day and vice versa. It is also possible to use ND filters, and the Promote Control lets you know when to insert/remove it.

 

Regular focus stacking and HDR:

In macro photography, this technique is widespread because it can increase the depth of field without limit. It is also used in landscape photography where the foreground is very close to the front lens. The Promote Control offers the possibility to pilot the focus mechanism without having to touch the camera during the sequence.

 

PromoteFS.jpg

 

It would be possible to make the focus by hand, but depending on the number of images required (that can go beyond 50), this automated system is a time saver and drastically increases the accuracy. It is possible to activate the HDR function to combine the two techniques. The output images are stacked by PS or other.

 

Manual shutter hold:

This function is identical to that of a basic remote control. Pressing the button and holding it down for the required time of the exposure. Releasing the button stops the shooting. This function requires the support of an additional timer.

Back to index

Promote Control

PromoteAction.jpg

 

Ce petit boîtier au format de poche rend de précieux services. En pratique, sur le terrain, les conditions climatiques peuvent varier énormément. Je pense particulièrement à la montagne ou aux pays à la météo capricieuse comme l'Islande. Par conséquent, posséder un outil qui soit d'une part fiable et ne craigne pas la neige ou la pluie est un atout de taille.

D'autre part, sa taille discrète permet de l'incorporer à n'importe quel équipement. Le pilotage des paramètres de base de l'appareil photo peut également être fait par une tablette ou un PC mais ces derniers ont un clavier/écran tactile qui représente le point faible central en cas de météo difficile, sans parler des problèmes de transport liés à la taille de ces dispositifs.

Le Promote Control réunit toutes les caractéristiques nécessaires à la photo en sites éloignés où les conditions climatiques peuvent être dures tout en gardant un format de poche!

 

Mode de prise de vue unique:

Lorsqu'une seule image est requise, ce mode permet soit d'utiliser le paramétrage de l'appareil photo, soit de choisir le temps d'exposition, l'ouverture et la sensibilité par le Promote Control pour un pilotage complet du boîtier. À l'aide du câble de l'obturateur, il est possible de choisir le temps d'exposition en HH:MM:SS indispensable pour les longues pauses.

 

PromoteIceberg.jpg

 

En effet, le Bulb mode de l'appareil photo ne donne pas d'indication du temps écoulé, par conséquent, l'utilisation du Promote Control permet un pilotage précis et reproductible sans minuteur additionnel. De plus, sa petite taille permet de le substituer à un contrôle filaire traditionnel tout en bénéficiant de ses nombreuses fonctions.

 

Mode HDR:

Lors des scènes très contrastées où il n'est pas possible d'utiliser un filtre ND gradué, le Promote Control permet un braketting jusqu'à 45 images, nombre largement supérieur à une utilisation normale.

L'avantage de ce système est qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de toucher l'appareil photo pour changer la vitesse d'obturation ni de compter dans sa tête le nombre d'images brackettées lors des prises de vue des panoramas HDR. À chaque vue, il suffit d'actionner le dispositif pour automatiquement prendre le set d'images paramétrés. Très pratique sur le terrain.

 

PromotePano.jpg

 

L'image de 80Mpx ci-dessus est le résultat de 16 sets de 15 expositions par pas de 1/3EV. Le Promote Control a grandement facilité ces prises de vue et sa petite taille permet de l'exploiter dans des endroits difficiles comme dans cette rivière où je n'irais pas avec une tablette!

 

Mode Bulb HDR:

Ce mode est un backup du mode HDR présenté plus haut. Il est utile pour les appareils photo n'ayant pas de connexion USB. Le pilotage des séquences passe par le Bulb mode mais ces capacités sont plus restreintes par rapport au mode HDR par USB.

 

Mode timelapse, normal et HDR:

Les prises de vue destinées au montage d'un timelapse sont considérablement simplifiées car les options disponibles par le Promote Control vont bien au-delà des paramètres de l'appareil photo quel qu'il soit. Il est possible de choisir l'intervalle, le nombre de déclenchements et de retarder le lancement des prises de vue en paramétrant le temps de retard en HH:MM:SS. Il est également possible de prendre des images entre les intervalles si une action inattendue se présente sans stopper la séquence. De plus, en cas de mauvaise évaluation préliminaire des conditions lumineuses, l'exposition est ajustable durant la séquence.

Mais encore, fonction que j'affectionne particulièrement, le timelapse HDR qui permet de réussir des prises de vue difficiles lors de scènes très contrastées. Fonction qui n'est généralement pas présente avec un intervallomètre classique.

 

Mode bulb ramping, normal et avancé:

Le mode normal est très utile pour les timelapses d'un lever ou coucher de soleil. Pour les plus grandes échelles dynamiques, le mode avancé devient incontournable. Il s'utilise lors du passage de la nuit au jour ou l'inverse.

Le mode bulb ramping fonctionne en variant l'exposition par de petits incréments qui assemblés vont produire une vidéo sans flickering (variation rapide de l'exposition). Ce moyen permet d'obtenir une transition progressive de la nuit au jour ou l'inverse. Il est également possible d'utiliser des filtres gradués, le Promote Control avertit lorsqu'il est nécessaire de les insérer/retirer.

 

Focus stacking normal et HDR (empliement de mise au point):

En macro, cette technique est très répandue car elle permet d'accroître la profondeur de champ sans limite. Elle est également utilisée en photo de paysage lorsque l'avant plan est très près de la lentille frontale.

Le Promote Control offre la possibilité de piloter le mécanisme de la mise au point de l'objectif sans avoir à toucher le boîtier durant la séquence.

 

PromoteFS.jpg

 

Il serait possible d'effectuer les mises au point à la main mais suivant le nombre d'images nécessaires, ce petit dispositif automatisé est un gain de temps et de précision non négligeable. Il est possible d'activer la fonction HDR pour combiner les deux techniques. Les images s’empilent ensuite à l'aide de PS ou autre.

 

Contrôle manuel de l'obturateur:

Cette fonction est identique à celle d'un contrôle à distance basique. Presser le bouton et le maintenir le temps de l'exposition. Relâcher le bouton stoppe la prise de vue. Cette fonction nécessite le support d'un timer additionnel.

Retour à l'indexe