Wet lens Inon UWL-H100 28M67 Type II

The images produced by this wetlens are incredibly sharp for underwater photography by a compact camera. This wetlens, coupled with the ultimate Sony RX100M2, renders a quality that can rival certain reflex cameras in terms of sharpness and management of digital noise.

 

Construction: 4 groups of 4 elements
Maximum incident view angle: 100.8°
Outer diameter: 90.4 mm
Length: 45.4 mm
Mount thread diameter: M67 pitch 0.75
Depth rating: 60m
Material: Hard ionized Aluminium
Glass type: Optical glass
ARC: Anti-reflective coating (front and rear)

 

The image below is the result of the assembling of 14 pictures taken in freediving at -13m deep in an arm of the Mediterranean Sea near Roses (Catalonia). This is a pine tree which flew about 100m horizontally when the 2010 storm uprooted it from the top of the cliff overlooking the sea.

wetlensRoses.jpg

 

The images were framed vertically in one row and cover approximately 150°. The quality of the raw images is truly remarkable for a couple compact camera - wetlens. A true success from Inon and Sony!

Through the assembling of images (stitching) with Kolor Autopano Pro, panoramic output images have a very high resolution thanks to the 20Mpx sensor of the Sony RX100M2. The panorama above has a resolution of 61Mpx. One can appreciate the sharpness of the enlargements at 100%.

Depending on the aperture sets with the Sony RX100M2 and the amount of ambiant light available, the images can have a great sharpness through the entier image until the edges. The example below shows almost non-existent vignetting and razor sharp details. It is clear that abundant light enable to stop down to f/8 and allow to set a low sensitivity that will result in a quality image. Everything depends on the compact setting, but this wetlens opens the field of view without degrading the image.

To increase the view angle in order to approach a fisheye lens, it is possible to mount on this wetlens the corresponding dome: Dome Lens Unit II for UWL-H100 which increases the underwater view angle to 144.8 °.

The trio Dome Lens Unit Type II - WetLens Inon - Sony RX100M2 in a Nauticam housing is my best experience in underwater photography. It is easy to use for exploring the seas, rivers and mangroves, easily transportable and a quality of the image out of the ordinary! Not to mention the price that is very affordable compared to the price of equipment to get a DSLR underwater... This combination is ideal for freediving because of its reduced volume.

 

Some wonderful freedives in perspective :-)

Back to index

Wet lens Inon UWL-H100 28M67 Type II

Du fait que je pratique la photo en apnée, il y a certains domaines que j'ai abandonné comme la macro. Les informations qui suivent sont bien évidemment limitées par rapport à tout ce qu'il est possible en photo sub-aquatique.

 

Construction: 4 groupes de 4 éléments
Angle de vue max sous l'eau: 100.8°
Diamètre extérieur: 90.4 mm
Longueur: 45.4 mm
Fixation: Filetage M67
Profondeur max: 60m
Matière: Aluminium anodisé
Type de verre: Verre optique
ARC: Revêtements anti-reflets (faces frontale et arrière)

 

Les images que produit cette wetlens sont d'une netteté incroyable pour de la photo sub-aquatique au compact. Couplée à l'ultime Sony RX100M2, le rendu est d'une qualité qui rivalise avec certains reflex en terme de netteté et gestion du bruit numérique.

 wetlensRoses.jpg

L'image ci-dessus est le résultat de l'assemblage de 14 photos prisent en apnée par 13m de fond dans un bras de la méditerranée près de Roses (Catalogne). Il s'agit d'un pin qui a volé sur environ 100m horizontalement lorsque la tempête de 2010 l'a déraciné du haut de la falaise qui surplombe la mer.

Les images ont été cadrées en vertical et couvrent 150° environ. La qualité des images brutes de capteur est vraiment remarquable pour un couple wetlens-compact. Une véritable réussite de Inon et Sony!

En passant par l'assemblage d'image (stitching) à l'aide d'Autopano Pro les panoramiques en sortie ont une très grande résolution grâce au capteur de 20Mpx du Sony RX100M2. Le panorama ci-dessus a une résolution de 61Mpx. On peut apprécier la netteté des agrandissement à 100%.

Suivant l'ouverture utilisée avec le Sony RX100M2 et la quantité de lumière à disposition, les images ont un piqué excellent jusque dans les bords de la photo. L'exemple ci-dessus affiche un vignettage quasiment inexistant et une netteté remarquable. Il est évident qu'une lumière abondante permet de fermer la diaphragme à f/8 et de paramétrer une basse sensibilité qui se traduira par une image de qualité. Tout dépend du paramétrage du compact, mais cette wetlens ouvre le champ de vision sans dégrader l'image.

Pour accroître l'angle de vue afin d'approcher un fisheye, il est possible de fixer sur cette wetlens le dôme correspondant: Dome Lens Unit II pour UWL-H100 qui augmentera l'angle de vue à 144.8°.

Le trio Dome Lens Unit type II - WetLens Inon - Sony RX100M2 dans un caisson Nauticam est ma meilleure expérience en photo sub-aquatique tant il est maniable pour l'exploration des mers, mangroves et rivières recluées, aisément transportable et d'une qualité d'image hors du commun! Sans parler du prix qui reste tout à fait abordable en comparaison du prix de l'équipement pour avoir un reflex sous l'eau... Cette combinaison est idéale pour la photographie en apnée car l'encombrement est moindre.

De bien belles plongées en perspective :-)

 

 Retour à l'indexe